Dial Care PC phone scam
Remember our warning about phone scams?
Somebody obeyed our instructions at the end of this video - and this is what we managed to record...
Click here to read more about these kind of scams
Please take a moment to spread the news on this
click the Facebook like button
or the Twitter and LinkedIn sharing links at the foot of this article
If you have experienced such a scam can we encourage you to report it to Action Fraud
Click this link to report it
Comments (4)
-
Sat 12 May 2012 - 12:46PM | easykeyWell done - If you get a call from them again tell them to call the number at the end of the video above and that the computer belongs to Peter Brown. We will record the conversation and post it on YouTube :-) BTW took a quick look at onlinepchubb.com - I love the way they invite you to link to them on Facebook, Twitter YouTube - and the links just take you to the homepage rather than their actual accounts. I guess if they actually had any of these social media accounts they wouldn't be able to cope with the flood of complaints people would post!
What really annoys us about these scams is that we have been offering legitimate pay as you go remote support since 2005 - and we have seen a big drop in enquiries from new customers. Still the principle is that a company like Easykey would never cold call anybody with some half-baked story that we have detected there is something wrong with your PC. If you want to get rid of them quick - tell them you have a Mac :)

Eventually he got hacked off with me asking so many questions that he told me that his call was being recorded and as I am refusing help that my warantee with Microsoft was no longer valid. I made it very clear that I would be happy to be helped if he could prove he was genuine but he ended the call.